Love in the Time of Coronavirus

How are you, friends? … How are you really?

February is one of the most overhyped months of the year in any year. It is especially so during a global pandemic that has left many of us feeling isolated and alone. It’s okay to not be okay. You’ve heard this statement before, and I don’t mean to be trite in (re)stating it. It’s okay to admit that our daily lives suck right now. There is currently a lot of uncertainty and heaviness in the world, and exactly what and how each “thing” impacts us is an individual matter. If you stumble on this article, I hope you take a moment to take care of yourself, in whatever way(s) your body and mind need. The longest and most intimate relationship you’ll have is the one with yourself, and you have the power to make it a loving one.

I have been exercising a lot lately. It was not a New Year’s resolution, nor anything resembling “New Year, New You.” Prior to COVID, I worked out regularly, 3-4 times per week. I use ClassPass, which allows me to take group fitness classes at various studios in the city. I love the intentionality and energy of classes. I’ve told Eric that in order to have an effective workout, I need someone to yell at me and tell me what to do. After COVID hit, all the studios I was frequenting shut down, and my fitness routine came to a screeching halt for a few months. Slowly, but surely, some studios re-opened when they were allowed to, and are strictly adhering to operational guidelines provided by the Provincial Health Officer. Slowly, I started going back to my classes, which are now much smaller. They have been a tremendous help for both my physical and mental health. Working out gives me a sense of control, because I choose how hard I push myself in any given exercise.

As much as I love spending time with Eric, I also love my “me time.” Besides working out, I like tuning out. Fortunately, Eric and I are both comfortable with silence. We can sit near each other for hours, doing our own thing, and we wouldn’t feel the need to chat. A couple of weeks ago, after one too many days of being cooped up at home for work and school, I went for a walk by myself. I walked to the Chapters near our place, and spent a couple of hours browsing the store (with a mask on). It was wonderful! I bought a book that I’ve been slowly getting into, usually during the early hours of the morning when he is still asleep. When I need a brain break from the book, I play Words with Friends. I’m not good at it — I had only played Scrabble about twice in my whole life — but I still love it. I once shouted “YES!” after I played “QUANTS” for 105 points. It was the most exciting moment of my week.

One of my friends runs, another embroiders, yet another gardens. Whatever brings you calm or joy, whatever makes you smile or laugh, whatever makes you proud of yourself (even if it’s as silly as 14 points on Words with Friends), do more of it. Love yourself; after all, no one will do it as well as you.


Leave a comment