All that glitters is not gold

Las Vegas is one of those places that screams “rite of passage”. Most adults over 21 years old have been at least once, and some — particularly residents of the Pacific Northwest — consider it a quick and convenient getaway.

Recently, I went with two girlfriends from university. It was my first girls trip, and the first time I’d travelled with Maggie and Kristine. I was excited! I’m the vacation planner in the family. Thanks to Maggie the “Vegas veteran”, I got to take a break from planning and simply tagged along with her plans.

The highlight of our mini-vacation was Calvin Harris. For those of you unfamiliar with him, he’s a Scottish and British DJ, singer and songwriter. He was spinning at Caesars Palace, and we had a fun night of dancing, laughing and meeting people at his show.

Vegas - Calvin Harris DarkVegas - Calvin Harris SoloVegas - Girls

Another highlight was our meal at Michael Mina, a fine dining restaurant inside the Bellagio. We ordered the Signature Tasting Menu, which was surprisingly filling and unsurprisingly well-displayed. Maggie ordered a flight of wine to pair with her food, and had the pleasure of being served by Ben, one of the best award-winning sommeliers in Vegas.

When I got back to Vancouver, I told Eric that I was very glad to be home. He replied, “I had a feeling you would be. You’re not built for Vegas.” He explained that most people go to Vegas for gambling, clubbing and drinking, none of which I particularly enjoy. My hubs knows me well. Vegas was a little too “in your face”, and the mentality of “What happens here stays here.” brings out the worst behaviours in people. My girlfriends and I witnessed some questionable actions that we’re glad we don’t have to deal with at home. Despite all the enticements, there’s a reason most trips to Sin City are an average of 3-4 days.

To each his own. I feel blessed to have a loving husband and a home in a city flanked by stunning natural beauty, not artificial glitz and glamour. Maybe I’m just uncool… instead of dancing to loud, thumping music with an overpriced drink, I’d rather watch the sunset from our deck with a glass of wine.

TBR - Sunset

Leave a Reply

